Sunday, October 23, 2016 - 1:30 PM
Reading/Round Table: IFOA

Brigantine Room

235 Queens Quay West
Toronto M5J 2G8
Cost: $18/$15 for Supporter

Lotte Hammer, Alexander Maksik, Peter Robinson, and Ben Sanders will share their insights about the art of crime writing and what makes a crime story effective. This event is hosted by James Grainger and moderated by Ania Szado.


  • James Grainger

    James Grainger’s debut collection of stories, The Long Slide, was the winner of the ReLit Award for Short Fiction. His reviews and articles have appeared in the Toronto Star, Quill & Quire, The Globe and MailElle CanadaMen’s FashionSharp and Rue Morgue. He presents his first novel, Harmless. Set over the course of a single day and night, it is a tense, provocative and psychologically astute tale about a weekend reunion of old friends that takes a terrifying turn. The film rights to Harmless were recently acquired by award-winning Canadian director Atom Egoyan.

  • Jackobson, Lotte

    Lotte Hammer

    Lotte and Søren Hammer are a sister and brother from Denmark. Younger sister Lotte worked as a nurse after finishing her training in 1977, and her brother Søren was a trained teacher and a lecturer at the Copenhagen University College of Engineering. When Søren moved into the house where Lotte lived with her family, the siblings began writing crime novels together. They have written six books in the series: The Hanging, The Girl in the Ice,and three more yet to be published in the United States.Lotte will be presenting The Vanished. Supported by the Danish Agency for Culture and Palaces

  • Alexander Maksik by Beowulf Sheehan

    Alexander Maksik

    Alexander Maksik is a contributing editor at Condé Nast Traveler, his writing has appeared in Best American Nonrequired Reading, Harper’s, Tin House, Harvard Review, The New York Times Book Review, The New York Times Magazine, The Atlantic, Salon and Narrative Magazine, among other publications. He is the co-artistic director of the Can Cab Literary Residence in Catalonia. He has authored three novels: You Deserve Nothing; A Marker To Measure Drift, which was named a New York Times Notable Book and a finalist for both the William Saroyan Prize and Le Prix du Meilleur Livre Étranger; and Shelter In Place.  

  • Peter Robinson

    Peter Robinson grew up in the United Kingdom, and now divides his time between Toronto and Richmond, Yorkshire. When the Music's Over is the 23rd book in the DCI Banks series. He has also written two collections of short stories, and three standalone novels, the most recent of which is the bestseller Before the Poison, winner of the Arthur Ellis Award in Canada, Sweden's Golden Crowbar Award, and the 2013 Dilys Award given by the Independent Mystery Booksellers Association. Robinson's critically acclaimed crime novels have won numerous awards, and are published in translation all over the world.

  • Sanders, Ben_photo credit Carolyn Wright

    Ben Sanders

    Ben Sanders is the author of three previous novels: The Fallen (2010), By Any Means (2011), and Only the Dead (2013), all of which were New Zealand Fiction Bestsellers. Sanders's first three novels were written while he was studying at university; he graduated in 2012 with a Bachelor of Engineering, and now writes full-time. American Blood is his first novel in the U.S., and has been optioned by Warner Bros. for a major motion picture. He lives in Auckland, New Zealand. Supported by Creative New Zealand

  • Ania Szado

    Ania Szado

    In 2014, CBC called Ania Szado one of "Ten Canadian Women You Need to Read." Her short fiction has been nominated for the Journey Prize and National Magazine Awards, and her bestselling novel Studio Saint-Ex has received international acclaim. Szado's debut novel, Beginning of Was, was regionally shortlisted for the Commonwealth Writers' Prize.