Saturday, November 1, 2014 - 3:00 PM
Author appearance, Round table: IFOA

Studio Theatre

235 Queens Quay West
Toronto M5J 2G8
Cost: $18/$15 supporters/FREE students & youth 25 and under

Four celebrated Canadian authors reflect on life, death and the human struggle, and the challenges of capturing these accurately and compassionately in their fiction. Farzana Doctor hosts and moderates.


  • (c) Eriche Saide

    Caroline Adderson

    Caroline Adderson is the acclaimed author of three novels, two collections of short stories and a number of books for young readers. She is the winner of two Ethel Wilson Fiction Prizes and three CBC Literary Awards. She was also the recipient of the 2006 Marian Engel Award for mid-career achievement. Adderson presents her fourth novel, Ellen in Pieces, a genre-bending story of a woman who, in the last year of her life, begins to explore love and the possibility of recovery from regret.

  • baillie-martha-photo-cr-mark-raynes-roberts

    Martha Baillie

    Martha Baillie’s previous novel, The Search for Heinrich Schlögel, was an Oprah Editors’ pick, and was published in France by Actes Sud. Her 2009 novel, The Incident Report, was nominated for the Scotiabank Giller Prize. Her poetry has been featured in the Iowa Review and her non-fiction in Brick Magazine and Longreads. She has written about contemporary visual art for the Art Gallery of Ontario and the Koffler Gallery. Her multimedia project, The Schlogel Archive, shown at the Koffler Gallery in 2015, was selected by NOW Magazine as a Contact Festival “Must See,” and can be visited at: Martha was born in Toronto, where she now lives and works.

  • Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

    Farzana Doctor

    Farzana Doctor is a Toronto-based author of three novels: Stealing Nasreen, Six Metres of Pavement (which in 2012 won a Lambda Literary Award and was short-listed for the Toronto Book Award and was the One Book One Brampton 2017 winner) and All Inclusive, a Kobo 2015 and National Post Best Book of the Year. She curates the Brockton Writers Series.

  • Miriam Toews

    Miriam Toews

    Miriam Toews is the author of five previous bestselling novels, including A Complicated Kindness and The Flying Troutmans. She is a winner of the Governor General’s Literary Award for Fiction, the Libris Award for Fiction Book of the Year and the Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize, and is also a two-time finalist for the Scotiabank Giller Prize. She has written for CBC’s WireTap, Canadian Geographic, The Guardian and The New York Times Magazine, among others. Toews is the recipient of the 2016 Harbourfront Festival Prize.

  • © J.D. Sloan

    Rudy Wiebe

    Rudy Wiebe is a novelist, short story writer and essayist. He has been the recipient of many awards, including the Governor General’s Literary Award for Fiction for both The Temptations of Big Bear and for A Discovery of Strangers, as well as the RBC Taylor Prize for his memoir, Of This Earth. Wiebe is also an Officer of the Order of Canada. He presents his first novel in 11 years, the lyrical masterwork Come Back. Inspired by his life, it is a rare and beautiful novel about the humanity of living and dying.