Friday, October 30, 2015 - 7:30 PM
Author appearance, Round table: Festival

Studio Theatre

235 Queens Quay West
Toronto M5J 2G8
Cost: $18/$15 supporters/FREE students & youth 25 and under

Talented short story writers Mark Anthony Jarman, Santiago Roncagliolo and Guy Vanderhaeghe discuss writing less and meaning more. Vincent Lam moderates.


  • Mark Anthony Jarman

    Mark Anthony Jarman is an author of fiction, poetry and travel writing. He has been shortlisted for the O. Henry Prize and has won the Gold National Magazine Award in non-fiction, the Maclean-Hunter Endowment Award and the Jack Hodgins Fiction Prize. His novel Salvage King Ya! is on’s list of 50 Essential Canadian Books. He teaches at the University of New Brunswick and is the fiction editor of The Fiddlehead. Jarman presents his latest collection, Knife Party at the Hotel Europa, a book of moving, surreal and often funny tales of a man’s quest for himself.

  • vincent-lam

    Vincent Lam

    Dr. Vincent Lam is from the expatriate Chinese community of Vietnam, and was born in Canada. Dr. Lam did his medical training in Toronto. Dr. Lam's first book, Bloodletting and Miraculous Cures, won the 2006 Scotiabank Giller Prize, and was adapted for television and broadcast on HBO Canada. The Headmaster's Wager, Dr. Lam's first novel, about a Chinese compulsive gambler and headmaster of an English school in Saigon during the Vietnam War, was long listed for the 2013 IMPAC Dublin Prize, shortlisted for the 2013 Commonwealth Book Prize, and was a finalist for the 2012 Governor General's Prize.  

  • Guy Vanderhaeghe

    Guy Vanderhaeghe is the author of five novels, four collections of short stories, two plays, and one teleplay. He is a three-time winner of the Governor’s-General Award for English language fiction for his collection of short stories, Man Descending, his novel The Englishman’s Boy, and his most recent story collection, Daddy Lenin. His novel The Last Crossing was a winner of the CBC’s Canada Reads Competition. He has also received the Timothy Findley Prize and the Harbourfront Literary Prize, both for a body of work.