Wednesday, October 29, 2014 - 7:30 PM
Special Event: IFOA

The Brigantine Room-Bill Boyle Artport

235 Queens Quay West
Toronto M5J 2G8
Cost: $18/$15 Supporters

The Writers’ Trust is one of the largest literary prize-giving organizations in the country, now annually awarding more than $240,500 to Canadian writers.14 Rogers Writers' Trust

For the sixth consecutive year, IFOA is proud to present the works nominated for the Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize. Author Helen Humphreys hosts.


  • (c) Frances Raud

    Steven Galloway

    Steven Galloway is the author of Finnie Walsh, Ascension and the bestselling novel The Cellist of Sarajevo. He lives with his wife and two young daughters in British Columbia, and teaches creative writing at UBC and SFUH. Galloway presents his latest novel, The Confabulist, a brilliant story about fame and ambition that uses the sudden death of Harry Houdini to weave a magical tale of intrigue, love and illusion. The Confabulist is a finalist for this year's Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize.

  • humphreys-helen_credit-ayelet-tsabari

    Helen Humphreys

    Helen Humphreysmost recent novel, The Evening Chorus, was nominated for a Governor General's Award and was a national bestseller. Her critically acclaimed memoir, Nocturne, was a finalist for the Trillium Book Award. Previous novels include Coventry, a New York Times Editors' Choice, a Globe and Mail Best Book of the Year, and a finalist for the Trillium Book Award; Afterimage, which won the Rogers Writers' Trust Prize for fiction; Leaving Earth, which won the Toronto Book Award; and The Lost Garden, which was a Canada Reads selection. The recipient of the Harbourfront Festival Prize for literary excellence, Humphreys lives in Kingston, Ontario. She presents The Ghost Orchard.

  • K.D. Miller

    K.D. Miller’s short stories have been nominated for the Journey Prize, published widely in Canadian magazines and broadcast by the CBC. Her first collection, A Litany in Time of Plague, appeared in 1994. Her second collection, Give Me Your Answer, was shortlisted for the inaugural Upper Canada Brewing Company’s Writers Craft Award and named by the Toronto Star as one of the 10 best books of 1999. Her most recent work is All Saints, a collection of linked short stories praised by Maclean's as "a Canadian classic" and shortlisted for the 2014 Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize.  

  • Carrie Snyder

    Carrie Snyder is the author of two books of short fiction. Her first, Hair Hat, was shortlisted for the Danuta Gleed Literary Award for short fiction, and her second, The Juliet Stories, was a finalist for the 2012 Governor General's Literary Award. Snyder lives in Waterloo, Ontario and blogs as Obscure CanLit Mama. She presents Girl Runner, a finalist for the 2014 Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize. Part historical page-turner, part contemporary mystery, it is an engaging and endearing story about family, ambition, athletics and the dedicated pursuit of one’s passions.

  • Miriam Toews

    Miriam Toews

    Miriam Toews is the author of five previous bestselling novels, including A Complicated Kindness and The Flying Troutmans. She is a winner of the Governor General’s Literary Award for Fiction, the Libris Award for Fiction Book of the Year and the Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize, and is also a two-time finalist for the Scotiabank Giller Prize. She has written for CBC’s WireTap, Canadian Geographic, The Guardian and The New York Times Magazine, among others. Toews is the recipient of the 2016 Harbourfront Festival Prize.