Monday, October 26, 2015 - 8:00 PM
Author appearance, Round table, Special Event: IFOA

Fleck Dance Theatre

207 Queens Quay W
Toronto M5J 2G8
Cost: $18/$15 supporters/FREE students & youth

The Governor General’s Literary Awards are given annually to the best English- and French-language books in the categories of Fiction, Non-Fiction, Poetry, Drama, Children’s Literature and Translation.

This event features the authors shortlisted for the 2015 Governor General’s Literary Award for English-language Fiction in conversation with the CBC’s Carol Off.

GGLA-logo-01-enGG Books live logos toolkit 2015_2b


This event is organized in collaboration with the Canada Council for the Arts to celebrate the 2015 Governor General’s Literary Awards.


  • Kate Cayley

    Kate Cayley is a poet, novelist and playwright. She is the author of the play After Akhmatova, which was produced by Tarragon Theatre where she is a playwright-in-residence. She is also the author of a young adult novel, The Hangman in the Mirror, and the poetry collection When This World Comes to an End. Cayley presents her first short story collection, How You Were Born, which won the 2015 Trillium Book Award, was longlisted for the Frank O'Connor Short Fiction Prize and a finalist for the 2015 Governor General's Award for Fiction. Cayley's stories all ask the same question: what if ordinary life is much stranger than we allow ourselves to think?

  • humphreys-helen_credit-ayelet-tsabari

    Helen Humphreys

    Helen Humphreys is the award-winning author of seven novels, four books of poetry, and three works of creative non-fiction.

  • Jackman, Clifford

    Clifford Jackman

    Clifford Jackman was born in Deep River and raised in Ottawa. He received a BA from York University, an MA from Queen's University and an LLB from Osgoode Hall Law School. He practises law in Richmond Hill, Ontario, and counts Stephen King and Cormac McCarthy among his strongest literary influences. Jackman presents The Winter Family, which is a 2015 Governor General's Literary Award nominee.

  • Carol Off

    Carol Off has been a host of CBC Radio’s As It Happens since 2006. Previously a documentary reporter for The National, she has extensive experience in both Canadian and international current affairs. Off is the author of several bestselling books of non-fiction, including The Ghosts of Medak Pocket: The Story of Canada’s Secret War, which won the prestigious Dafoe Foundation Award. She is also the recipient of numerous awards for her television and radio work, among them a Gemini and two gold medals from the New York Festival of Television.  

  • Guy Vanderhaeghe

    Guy Vanderhaeghe is the author of five novels, four collections of short stories, two plays, and one teleplay. He is a three-time winner of the Governor’s-General Award for English language fiction for his collection of short stories, Man Descending, his novel The Englishman’s Boy, and his most recent story collection, Daddy Lenin. His novel The Last Crossing was a winner of the CBC’s Canada Reads Competition. He has also received the Timothy Findley Prize and the Harbourfront Literary Prize, both for a body of work.