Filter By:

previous March 2018 next 1 2

Tuesday, March 06

Imagining New Frontiers: Celebrating 50 Years of Groundbreaking Research

Tuesday, March 6, 2018 - 7:30 PM
Innis Town Hall Theatre
Panel: Special Event
Participants: John Borrows, Victoria Kaspi, Paul Kennedy, Molly Shoichet

killam-toronto-mailchimp-invite-english-2160x1080-1

Join the Canada Council for the Arts for this special anniversary event featuring acclaimed winners of the Killam Prize. In an insightful panel discussion, three of Canada’s leading researchers will address the importance of creativity and imagination in the field of research, and the societal impact of their work in today’s world.

The event is moderated by Paul Kennedy, Host of CBC Radio Ideas.

Panelists:

Dr. John Borrows, Lawyer specializing in indigenous legal rights, University of Victoria

Dr. Victoria Kaspi, Astrophysicist and director of the McGill Space Institute, McGill University

Dr. Molly Shoichet, Biomedical engineer and Ontario’s Chief Scientist, University of Toronto

Please RSVP here.

A reception will follow.


Organized in partnership with:

Killam Trusts

International Festival of Authors (IFOA)

University of Toronto

CBC Radio Ideas

Wednesday, March 07

Toronto Lit Up: Nathan Ripley

Wednesday, March 7, 2018 - 6:00 PM
Ben McNally Books
Book Launch: Toronto Lit Up | Toronto Lit Up/Book Launch
Participants: Nathan Ripley

IFOA and Simon & Schuster Canada invite you to the launch of Find You in the Dark by Nathan Ripley.

ripley-nathan-find-you-in-the-dark“In this chilling debut thriller, in the vein of Dexter and The Talented Mr. Ripley, a family man obsessed with digging up the undiscovered remains of serial killer victims catches the attention of a murderer prowling the streets of Seattle.”

ss-logo

 

 

 

 

Please RSVP by emailing RSVP@simonandschuster.ca


Toronto Lit Up is a three year initiative, spearheaded by the Toronto Arts Council and IFOA, designed to spotlight Toronto’s writers and empower local artists with career-building opportunities. Click here for more information.

toronto-lit-up-logo-magenta   Toronto Arts Council  Print

IFOA Weekly presents ‘What’s Life Got To Do With It?’

Wednesday, March 7, 2018 - 7:30 PM
Brigantine Room, Harbourfront Centre
Panel: IFOA Weekly
Participants: Mayank Bhatt, Lisa de Nikolits, Terri Favro, Catherine Graham, Kevin Hardcastle, Grace O'Connell

Explore the world through writing. Join us for ‘What’s Life Got To Do With It?’. A panel of novelists and poets discuss how the world today affects their writing. Authors Mayank Bhatt, Terri Favro, Catherine Graham, Kevin Hardcastle and Grace O’Connell will be guided through a thought-provoking discussion by award-winning writer Lisa de Nikolits.

bhatt-mayank-belief nofury-lisa-denikolitsBIB01 In the Ring PRINT.indd

 

 

 

 

 

quarry-cover-jpeg-2be-ready-for-the-lightningsputniks-children-terri-favro

 

 

 

 

 

 

Thursday, March 08

Toronto Lit Up: Sarah Henstra

Thursday, March 8, 2018 - 6:00 PM
Arts & Letters Club
Book club: Toronto Lit Up
Participants: Sarah Henstra

IFOA and ECW Press invite you to the launch of The Red Word by Sarah Henstra.

henstra-the-red-word
“The writing in The Red Word is undeniably gripping and at times beautiful . . . The timely, relevant topic of campus rape culture is addressed bravely; there aren’t enough works of fiction that tackle the material so honestly and prudently.” — Quill & Quire

ecw_press

 

 

Admission is free. Register here.


Toronto Lit Up is a three year initiative, spearheaded by the Toronto Arts Council and IFOA, designed to spotlight Toronto’s writers and empower local artists with career-building opportunities. Click here for more information.

toronto-lit-up-logo-magenta-2Toronto Arts CouncilPrint

Thursday, March 15

Toronto Lit Up: Jeffrey Round

Thursday, March 15, 2018 - 6:30 PM
Queen Books
Book Launch: Toronto Lit Up
Participants: Jeffrey Round

Celebrate the launch of The God Game, the fifth book of the Dan Sharp Mysteries series, by writer, producer and director Jeffrey Round. Presented by Dundurn Press and the IFOA, with author Jeffrey Round in attendance.

The God Game by Jeffrey Round

‘Private investigator Dan Sharp finds himself caught up in a political murder. When the husband of a Queen’s Park aide runs off to escape his gambling debts, private investigator Dan Sharp is hired to track him down’.

dundurn-logo-blk

 

 

 

Admission is free. Please register here.


Toronto Lit Up is a three year initiative, spearheaded by the Toronto Arts Council and IFOA, designed to spotlight Toronto’s writers and empower local artists with career-building opportunities. Click here for more information.

toronto-lit-up-logo-magenta-2Toronto Arts CouncilPrint

1 2